Tuesday, October 26, 2010

Tioga Downs to Close Simulcast Operations on Mondays and Tuesdays

Tioga Downs will be closing its simulcast operations on Mondays and Tuesdays beginning on Monday, November 8th.

The simulcast facility will be open on Mondays and Tuesdays on certain occasions when NYRA is racing, or when there is a holiday.

The decision was made by management after handle numbers for Monday and Tuesdays were low with the lack of racing product available for simulcast customers to wager on.

“With the struggling economy and lack of racing product available for our patrons on Mondays and Tuesdays, it was in the best interest of our business plan to make this adjustment," said Jason Settlemoir, VP of Racing and Simulcast. "As we head into spring we will re-assess the simulcast situation at Tioga Downs and go from there."

Tioga Downs will continue to simulcast Wednesday through Sunday, and the Tioga Downs gaming floor will continue to be open seven days a week.

For more information on Tioga Downs please visit our website at www.tiogadowns.com

Monday, October 18, 2010

Cruisin' at the Downs Car Show Takes Over Tioga Downs

Joe and Marilyn Pierson took home the Best in Show trophy for their 1956 Corvette.

Here is a complete list of trophy winners:

1) Tony Marinucci # 176
2) Bill Wright #126
3) Paul Sutliff #113
4) Tom Wright #127
5) Hank Leathermen #110
6) Joe Place # 67
7) Alex Tomko #93
8) Edward Shelp #80
9) Rodger Ward #95
10) Ed Wrench #102
11) Jim Pollen #69
12) Aldo Brozzetti #9
13) Lori Youngs #104
14) Mike Catilin #140
15) Gary & Cathy Campbell #125
16) Les Wainmen #179
17) Dick & Dave Stoker #178
18) John Corim # 143
19) Chris Chervanka #246
20) Pate Palmari #65
21) David Richard #73
22) Jan Sirko #83
23) Robert Shelp #81
24) John Washak #96
25) Rhonda West # 98
26) Tom Zayay #105
27) George Greek #124
28) Mike Malarkry #132
29) John Rihl #141
30) Jerry Chambers #16

Wednesday, October 13, 2010

Win a 1965 Thunderbird at Tioga Downs

Tioga Downs, in conjunction with its first ever Cruisin' at the Downs Car Show, will give away a 1965 Thunderbird to one lucky customer when the clock strikes Midnight on Saturday, October 16.

Players can earn entries into the drawing by using their Players Club card on a video gaming machine until 11:15pm on October 16th.

For every five points accumulated on the Players Club card, one entry into the drawing will be awarded.

You must activate your card on October 16th by using it in any video gaming machine between 4pm and 11:15pm to be eligible to win.

For a complete list of rules, visit tiogadowns.com

Monday, October 4, 2010

Lewis to represent Australia in the World Driving Championship

Tioga Downs will be one of five host tracks in North America for the 2011 World Driving Championship. The world-class event includes 20 races from July 31-August 5, 2011. Today, Australia's representative for the event was announced. Here is the release courtesy of Harness Racing Australia:

Chris Lewis has been selected to represent Australia in the 2011 World Driving Championship, which will be conducted in the United States between July 31 and Aug. 5, 2011.

Lewis, who passed both the 4,000 career wins and 2,000 Perth wins milestones during 2010, has been the standout driver in Western Australia for the past 25 years.

A nominee for induction into the West Australian Racing Industry Hall of Fame later this year, he has won eight Perth drivers’ premierships. Only Hall of Famers Fred R. Kersley, with 17, and Frank Kersley, with 11, have won more. In addition, Lewis has recorded an unprecedented 27 successive top five finishes on the Perth premiership list between the 1983-84 and 2009-2010 seasons.

The World Driving Championship, which commenced in 1970, will bring together 10 of the world’s finest drivers from Europe, Canada, New Zealand, Australia and the U.S.A., who will compete in a series of 20 races at five tracks -- Harrah’s Chester, Tioga Downs, Monticello Raceway, the Meadowlands and Yonkers Raceway.

Lewis became one of only four West Australians to win the national drivers’ title when he beat Victorian ace Chris Alford to claim Australia’s leading driver title, by wins, in 1995 with a then Australian record 211 winners.

He also has been among the top 10 Australian drivers, by wins, 17 times, and has driven 100 winners in a season on 22 separate occasions.

Lewis has driven a total of 40 Group I winners in races that include the Inter Dominion (in both South Australia and Queensland), the Western Australia Pacing Cup, Fremantle Cup, Western Australia Derby, Western Australia Oaks, Western Australia Golden Slipper Stakes, Australian Pacing Championship, M.H. Treuer Memorial, Australian Pacing Gold, Western Australia Golden Nugget Championship, Bathurst Gold Tiara, Harold Park Cup and Miracle Mile.

He is the only Western Australian reinsman to win at the Group I level in each of the five mainland states in Australia.

Lewis will be attempting to join Ted Demmler (1987) as the only Australian to win the World title, and will join Western Australia Hall of Famers Jim Schrader (1973 and 1979) and Fred Kersley (second to Maurice McKendry in 1991) as the only Western Australians to compete in the World Driving Championship.

Lewis has previously driven winners in both Russia and the United States, in addition to his Australian record.