Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Cane Pace draws nine at Tioga Downs

Wednesday morning, the Tioga Downs Race Office accepted entries for the 57th Annual Cane pace and nine 3-year-old colt and gelding pacers were entered.

As a result, no eliminations will be necessary and all nine will move straight to the $342,875 final on Saturday, September 10th at Tioga Downs.

Meadowlands Pace winner, Roll With Joe, leads the nine sophomore pacers and drew post position number eight for trainer Ed Hart and Ron Pierce.

In his last out, the 3-year-old son of Cam’s Card Shark – Classic Wish won the $500,000 Battle of Brandywine at Chester Downs over Alsace Hanover in 1:49.2.

Ed Hart trains the winner of more than $1.2 million already in 2011 and will look for his fifth win in nine seasonal outings.

Also joining him for the final will be the fastest 3-year-old pacer in 2011, Shadyshark Hanover, who captured the Oliver Wendell Holmes in 1:47.4 on Hambletonian Day at The Meadowlands.

Since reuniting with last year's pilot, Jim Morrill Jr., Shadyshark Hanover has been no worse that fourth in three starts after a bit of a rocky start to the year.

All horses for the 57th Annual Cane Pace must be in detention by 8:00 pm on Friday, September 9th, and scratch time for the Cane will be by Thursday, September 8th at 10:00 am.

Below is the field in post position order:
57th Annual Cane Pace
Saturday, September 10th
1 Powerful Mist Andy Miller Wayne Givens
2 Townslight Hanover Stephane Bouchard Aaron Lambert
3 Avenue Hanover Daniel Dube Mark Silva
4 Eighteen TBA Ian Moore
5 Shadyshark Hanover Jim Morrill Jr. Erv Miller
6 Rollwithitharry Jim Morrill Jr. Jimmy Takter
7 Betterthancheddar George Brennan Casie Coleman
8 Roll With Joe Ron Pierce Ed Hart
9 High Noon Mark Macdonald Jimmy Takter

For more information on Tioga Downs please visit us online at