Friday, June 8, 2012

All Star fields headline Bettor's Delight and Artiscape Paces at Tioga Downs

Sunday afternoon (June 10 – post time 1:30 pm) twenty of arguably the best aged horses in all of harness racing will converge on the five eighths mile oval of Tioga Downs in Nichols, New York.

Ten of the very best aged male pacers will line up for the $182,000 Bettor's Delight open pace led by a four horse entry from the powerful Ron Burke stable.

Led by defending pacer of the year, Foiled Again, the quartet who also includes triple millionaire Won The West, Meirs Hanover, and Clear Vision, will be looking for the stable's first Bettor's Delight championship.

Looking for the repeat is the 2011 defending champion, and world record holder, Bettor Sweet.

Last year Bettor Sweet opened eyes and set a new world record of 1:48.1 when he held off We Will See (Ron Pierce) in the stretch for trainer Tom Cancelliere.

We Will See, who will once again be handled by Ron Pierce will return to Tioga Downs on Sunday as well looking for redemption on last year's race.

The $182,000 Bettor's Delight will go to the gate as race number nine on Sunday afternoon and will kick off the $5,000 guaranteed pick four in conjunction with the USTA’s strategic wagering program.

The field is listed below:

Race 9:
$182,000 Bettor's Delight Open Pace

#          PP        HORSE                                  DRIVER                    TRAINER
1          4          Won The West             Jim Morrill Jr.               Ron Burke
1A       6          Clear Vision                             Matt Kakaley               Ron Burke
1B        7          Foiled Again                             Yannick Gingras           Ron Burke
1C       8          Meirs Hanover             George Brennan           Ron Burke
2          1          Razzle Dazzle                           Brian Sears                   Jerry Silverman
3          2          Rockincam                               David Miller                 R. Nifty Norman
4          3          Aracache Hanover                    Doug McNair               Gregg McNair
5          5          Bettor Sweet                            John Campbell  Tom Cancelliere
6          9          Real Nice                                 Jason Bartlett                Richard Banca
7          10        We Will See                             Ron Pierce                   Sam De Pinto

Co-featuring the Sunday afternoon race card with the best male pacers in the country, will be ten of the most talented mare pacers Tioga Downs has ever seen for the $184,000 Artiscape Pace. The star studded field is led by defending aged pacing mare Anndrovette, who captured the 2011 edition of the Artiscape in track record time of 1:49.4. Tim Tetrick will be doing the driving from post number nine for conditioner PJ Fraley as part of a two horse entry that includes Krispy Apple (George Brennan). The field of ten also includes Put On A Show (Brian Sears) who missed her four year old season due to injury, but has been razor sharp as of late posting four wins in her last five starts. Another new comer to the top mare ranks is the wicked fast, Drop The Ball, who found her best strides late in the year last year of her 3-year old season. The 4-year old Western Terror daughter tuned up for the Artiscape in her first and only start of the year last week at The Meadowlands finishing second after a first over trip. Yannick Gingras has opted off of Rocklamation from the Ron Burke stable to drive Drop The Ball for trainer Ross Croghan. Below is the field for the $184,000 Artiscape Open Mare Pace:

Race 7:
$184,000 Artiscape Open Mare Pace

#          PP        HORSE                                  DRIVER                    TRAINER
1          2          Krispy Apple                            George Brennan           P J Fraley
1A       9          Anndrovette                             Tim Tetrick                   P J Fraley
2          4          Ginger And Fred                      Jim Morrill Jr.               Ron Burke
2A       7          Rocklamation                           Ron Pierce                   Ron Burke
3          1          Dreamfair Eternal                      Jody Jamieson              Patrick Fletcher
4          3          Chancey Lady                          David Miller                 P J Fraley
5          5          Drop The Ball                           Yannick Gingras           Ross Croghan
6          6          Higher And Higher                    Daryl Bier                     Daryl Bier
7          8          Put On A Show                        Brian Sears                   Chris Ryder
8          10        All Spirit                                   Jim Marohn Jr. Judy Lanpher
Post time for the twelve race Sunday afternoon card is slated for 1:30 pm, for more information on Tioga Downs please visit us online at .

No comments:

Post a Comment