Saturday, May 29, 2010

Malicious favored in $217,250 EBC Final

Malicious and David Miller have been given the nod as the 2-1 morning line favorites for the $217,250 Empire Breeders Classic Final for 3-year-old colt pacers on Sunday night at Tioga Downs. Post time is 6:30 p.m.

The son of Bettor's Delight-Silky won his initial sophomore start last Sunday in the EBC elimination in 1:51.3 for trainer Dr. Ian Moore. The connections of Malicious have selected post position number one for the final and will start just inside of the other division winner, Dr Dreamy. Brian Sears will do the piloting of Dr Dreamy for George Teague, Jr. The son of Art Major-Candy Stripes also won his division last week in 1:51.3.

Here's a look at Dr Dreamy's win in last weeks 2nd elimination.

Filly Pacers
Hula’s Z Tam and Patrick Lachance have been made the favorite for the $202,200 EBC final for 3-year-old filly pacers. Hula’s Z Tam won her division last week in 1:53.4 in her initial sophomore start, using a back half of :54.4 to win by 1-1/2 lengths.

Here's a look at Hula's Z Tam looking impressive in her elimination last week.

Barks Like A Dog, from the Ray Schnittker stable, was the second division winner with Schnittker in the sulky. This week Schnittker has turned the lines over to Meadowlands leading driver George Brennan and the duo will start from post position four.

Below are the fields for the EBC finals:

$202,200 Empire Breeders Classic Final-3-year-old filly pacers
1-1-Shaky Hanover-Jason Bartlett-Josh Green
2-2-Galimony-David Miller-Linda Toscano
3-3-Hula’s Z Tam-Patrick Lachance-Patrick Lachance
4-4-Barks Like A Dog-George Brennan-Ray Schnittker
5-5-Lady Major-Brian Sears-Sam Serianni
6-6-Love And Honor-D.R. Ackerman-D.R. Ackerman
7-7-Tia Maria Hanover-Jimmy Marohn Jr.-Tim Lanpher
8-8-Ladybones-John Campbell-Bruce Saunders
9-9-Rough Sketch-Jim Morrill Jr.-Ed Lohmeyer

$217,250 Empire Breeders Classic Final-3-year-old colt pacers
1-3-TGIF-Jim Morrill Jr.-Phil Fluet
1A-4-Major Work Of Art-Phil Fluet-Phil Fluet
2-1-Malicious-David Miller-Dr. Ian Moore
3-2-Dr Dreamy-Brian Sears-George Teague Jr.
4-5-Flexjet-Dan Cappello Jr.-Chet Poole Jr.
5-6-Jo Pa’s Fod-John Campbell-Jim Campbell
6-7-S N P Bluechip-Matt Kakaley-James Dean
7-8-Art Two D Two-George Brennan-Joe Pavia Jr.
8-9-OK Commander-Doug McNair-Gregg McNair